The Central Virginian

Follow Us On:

Louisa Public Schools prepare to name 2015 Educator of the Year

Posted on Thursday, April 30, 2015 at 9:00 am

Louisa County Public Schools will name the 2015 William G. Thomas Educator of the Year on May 7.  The ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. in the Louisa County Middle School Forum.

The six finalists including Sarah Amick of Louisa County High School, Richard Dye of Louisa County Middle School, Laura Steere of Moss-Nuckols Elementary School, Laurie Corker of Thomas Jefferson Elementary School, Carrie Jenkins of Jouett Elementary School and Valerie Roberts of Trevilians Elementary School, have been chosen after a community-wide nomination process and two rounds of staff voting.  These school winners have earned not only the endorsement of Louisa, but of their colleagues as well. The division-wide winner will be selected by a panel with representation from each school, and the announcement will be the highlight of the May 7 ceremony. Before the winner is announced, attendees will hear about the finalists and see a video produced by each school showcasing their winner. School officials and the event sponsor, Old Dominion Insurance and Investments, will offer comments celebrating education and the crafting of teaching.

The ceremony is open to the public.