The Central Virginian

Follow Us On:

Deadline nears for town council seats

Posted on Monday, February 3, 2014 at 9:00 am

All seven seats of the Mineral Town Council are up for reelection on Tuesday, May 6 since the town does not follow a staggered election process, while three of seven seats are up for bid on the Louisa Town Council.

Running for a town council seat is less involved than those who seek school board or board of supervisors seats, in that they don’t have to get petitions signed or file campaign finance forms because of the small size of the towns.

In the town of Louisa, council seats currently held by Mayor Jim Artz, Vice Mayor Mary Jane Clarke and Garland Nuckols are up for reelection.  As of Tuesday afternoon, only Artz had filed his candidacy with the registrar’s office, according to Registrar Cris Watkins.

Currently serving on the Mineral Town Council are Mayor Pam Harlowe, Vice Mayor Bernice Wilson-Kube, Dr. William Thomas, Roy “Snake” McGehee, Roy Lee Payne, Tom Runnett and Michael Warlick.

The deadline to file for candidacy is 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 4.  Candidates only need fill out a declaration of candidacy and a certificate of candidate qualifications.

To read the entire story, see the Jan. 30 edition of The Central Virginian.