The Central Virginian

Follow Us On:

Primaries are scheduled for June 11 in Louisa County

Posted on Wednesday, May 15, 2019 at 5:00 am

Photo courtesy of Metro Creative.

Voters are reminded that the Democratic and Republican primaries are scheduled June 11. Absentee voting has already begun for citizens who have a valid reason not to be able to cast ballots on primary day.

Two Republicans, incumbent Bryce Reeves and challenger Rich Breeden are vying for their party’s nomination in the 17th state Senate district. Democrats Amy Laufer and Ben Hixon are seeking Democratic support in the same race.

All but three of the county’s voting districts are included in the 17th district. They include: Zion, Mechanicsville, Louisa #1 and #2, Patrick Henry #1 and #2, Mineral, Yanceyville, Fredericks Hall, Cuckoo and parts of Elk Creek and South Anna.

The remainder of the county is in the 22nd Senate district, which will not have a primary this year because the party nominees, Democrat Dakota Claytor and incumbent Republican Mark Peake, have no challengers.

May 20 is the deadline to register to vote in the primary or to update your address if you have moved. June 4 is the last day to request an absentee ballot by mail, and June 8 is the final day to ask for one in person.

(Compiled by David Holtzman)

This is a partial article. Read the full story in The Central Virginian’s May 9, 2019 issue.

Social Media Posts from Local Businesses.
Click the F2F Banner for More Posts.