McGuire wins but will be in Republican minority

Republican John McGuire scored a decisive victory over challenger Juanita Jo Matkins in Tuesday’s election, retaining his seat in the Virginia House of Delegates.

With one precinct in Henrico County still to be counted, McGuire had 61 percent of the vote to Matkins’ 38 percent. Matkins called McGuire to concede at about 9 p.m.

In the other significant state-level battle affecting Louisa County, Senator Bryce Reeves claimed a win over challenger Amy Laufer in the 17th district race, 51 to 48 percent.

McGuire and Reeves survived but will be part of the minority in the General Assembly this January, as Democrats captured control of both houses.

Sen. Mark Peake won easily over Democratic challenger Dakota Claytor in the 22nd district, which includes the eastern end of Louisa County.

Donald Lowe took an easy victory in the Louisa County sheriff’s face, defeating Troy Painting with 76 percent of the vote. Lowe, who ran as a Republican, will succeed Ashland Fortune, who he has worked closely with for the past 20 years.

The three-way contest for commissioner of the revenue resulted in a victory for Stacey Fletcher, who had served as acting commissioner since January. Fletcher received 47 percent of the vote, topping Republican Dan Braswell, who had 34 percent. Charles Rosson came in a distant third with 18 percent of the vote.

In the Jackson district race for supervisor, Chairman Toni Williams easily won re-election, defeating Bernie Hill with 64 percent of the vote.

For the Mineral town council, Ed Kube won 71 percent of the votes to top Michelle Covert.

Steve Lucas and Pat Willis won the two open seats on the Thomas Jefferson Soil and Water Conservation District Board. 

Look for more details on election results in the Nov. 7 edition of the CV.