Roadside History

Roadside History – Saint John’s Church Waldrop

St. John’s Church Waldrop overlooks the Marquis Road. It is a small classical revival building from 1845 that was built by James R. Magruder and his carpenter Malcolm Crawford. The two men are also credited with building West End, a nearby plantation house in the Green Springs National Historic Landmark District. St. John’s today serves an active congregation dedicated to its place of worship and the preservation of its place in history.

Read MoreRoadside History – Saint John’s Church Waldrop

Roadside History – Swan Tavern and Jack Jouett

Captain John Jouett, Sr., and his wife Mourning Glenn Harris were the parents of John Jouett, Jr. (Jack). Jack’s father owned and/or operated the Swan Tavern in Charlottesville and farmed a property near Cuckoo at a crossroads in Louisa County. Jouett family ancestors were French Huguenots emigrated from Normandy in France to Rhode Island in the American Colony, and later to Virginia in the early 1700’s. Louisa records for September 14, 1767, show that John Jouett renewed a license to keep an ordinary (tavern) in his house at a farm in Louisa County. 1

Read MoreRoadside History – Swan Tavern and Jack Jouett